New user wondering where to start?

Need help with any SMBX game-related issues? Ask your questions here.
Opportunist88
Goomba
Goomba

New user wondering where to start?

Postby Opportunist88 » Fri May 01, 2020 10:56 am

Hello

I am new to SMBX/SMBX and was just wondering how to best get started. I for now at least am not interested in creating my own worlds, rather just playing other peoples past creations.

I know there are guides and FAQs but from a quick glance most seem to deal with starting the creative side of thing whereas for now I just want to play so that all means very little to me. Sorry if I missed something.

Is it as simple as downloading SMBX1.3/SMBX2 Beta 4 and just heading to an episodes topic downloading it and following any instructions? If not what where should I start?
Any other programs I need?
Is there some sort of episode mega thread for episodes considered to be of a certain higher standard that I missed or it all just read the comments and trial and error?

Whilst I am new to SMBX/SMBX2 I am not new messing about with custom stuff on the PC so I don't need help with archives or the like. Just a kind fella to point me in the right direction to bouncing on the heads of Mario foes with maximum ease so it's not just all trial and error from the get-go.

Thanks for reading and any and all assistance you can provide!

Enjl
Cute Yoshi Egg
Cute Yoshi Egg
Flair: Orphion Egamalenitar Osmos IV, Esq.

Re: New user wondering where to start?

Postby Enjl » Fri May 01, 2020 12:23 pm

Generally: just download the proper version and you're ready to go. There's currently way too many leading versions so bear with me:
SMBX 38A 1.4.5 - not smbx, but instead a remake of the engine.
NSMBX - continuation of the source code, released recently
SMBX2 (current: 2.0 Beta 4) - hack of 1.3, with the most features out of these and most levels around here